Aggravated arson is the commission or attempt to commit arson, where human life is endangered.
Aggravated arson is a 1st degree felony.
A defendant is guilty of aggravated arson if by means of fire or explosives they intentionally and unlawfully damage: a habitable structure; or any structure or vehicle when any person not a participant in the offense is in the structure or vehicle.
A fine not to exceed $10,000 , plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(a), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
A term of imprisonment not less than 5 years and which may be for life.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-2-203(1))
A defendant convicted of a 1st degree felony aggravated arson must provide a DNA specimen.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-10-403(2))
A defendant convicted of aggravated arson may not posses, use or have control of a firearm or ammunition for life.
(18 U.S.C. §922(g)(9))