Class B misdemeanor.
A defendant commits threat of violence when they threaten to commit any offense involving bodily injury, death, or substantial property damage, and act with intent to place a person if fear of imminent serious bodily injury, substantial injury, or death.
Class B misdemeanor: A fine not to exceed $1,000, plus a 90% surcharge.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(d), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
Class B misdemeanor: A term in jail not to exceed 6 months.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-204(2))
In addition to any other penalty authorized by law, a court shall order any person convicted of any violation of this section to reimburse any federal, state, or local unit of government, or any private business, organization, individual, or entity for all expenses and losses incurred in responding to the violation, unless the court states on the record the reasons why the reimbursement would be inappropriate.
Learn more about crimes related to Threat of Violence. If you have any questions, please feel free to call our office at (801) 505-1586.