Class B misdemeanor.
A defendant, who is a parent or guardian, commits a class B misdemeanor knowing of minor's possession of dangerous weapon, when they know that the minor possesses a dangerous weapon and fail to make reasonable efforts to remove the firearm from the minor's possession.
Class B misdemeanor: A fine not to exceed $1,000, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(d), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
Class B misdemeanor: A term in jail not to exceed 6 months.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-204(2))
Learn more about crimes related to Parent's Knowledge of a Minor's Weapon Possession. If you have any questions, please feel free to call our office at (801) 505-1586.