Class B misdemeanor.
A defendant commits a class B misdemeanor, carrying a loaded firearm in a vehicle or on street when they carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle, unless: the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle; on a public street; or in a posted prohibited area. If the defendant is under 18 years of age they may not posses a loaded firearm in a vehicle.
Class B misdemeanor: A fine not to exceed $1,000, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(d), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
Class B misdemeanor: A term in jail not to exceed 6 months.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-204(2))
Learn more about crimes related to Carrying a Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle or on a Street. If you have any questions, please feel free to call our office at (801) 505-1586.