An assault, when committed by a person in the custody of a peace officer, or detained in jail, prison or a juvenile detention center.
3rd degree felony.
A assault, intending to cause bodily injury.is guilty of 3rd degree felony assault by a prisoner when they commit an
3rd degree felony: A fine not to exceed $5,000, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(a)(b), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
3rd degree felony: A term of imprisonment not to exceed 5 years.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-203(3))
A defendant convicted of a 2nd or 3rd degree felony assault by a prisoner must provide a DNA specimen.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-10-403(2))
May not posses, use or have control of a firearm or ammunition for life.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-10-503, 18 U.S.C. §922(g)(9))