Class A misdemeanor.
A defendant commits a class A misdemeanor, alteration of number or mark on pistol or revolver, when they change, alter, remove, or obliterate the name of the maker, the model, manufacturer’s number, or other mark of identification, including any distinguishing number or mark assigned by Utah's Department of Public Safety, on any pistol or revolver, without first secured written permission from Utah's Department of Public Safety to make the change, alteration, or removal.
Class A misdemeanor: A fine not to exceed $2,500, plus a 90%
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-301(1)(c), Utah Code Ann. §51-9-401)
The court may order the accused to pay restitution if convicted of this crime.
(Utah Code Ann. §77-38a-301)
Class A misdemeanor: A term in jail not to exceed 1 year.
(Utah Code Ann. §76-3-204(1))
A defendant convicted of altering a firearm serial number must provide a DNA specimen.
(Utah Code Ann. §53-10-403(2))